Virginia Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators Spring Business Meeting Minutes May 19 & 21, 2008 Newport News, Virginia

President Pat Kelly called the meeting to order. The Business Meeting of the Association was convened at 9:10 am on Monday, May 19, 2008.

Vera Riddick, Secretary, presented the Annual Business Meeting minutes to the membership. Erik Melis motioned to accept the minutes and Tom Morehouse seconded. The minutes from the last annual business meeting were accepted and approved as presented.

President Kelly submitted the Treasurer's Report to the membership reflecting the Association's financial status to date. Shelia Nelson-Hensley motioned to accept the report and Brenda Burke second the motion. The Treasurer's Report was approved and submitted as the official record.

Immediate Past-President Erik Melis presented the following slate of candidates for the 2008-2009 year:

President-Elect Shelia Nelson-Hensley

Treasurer-Elect Heather Hollandsworth

Representative-At-Large Keisha Pope Paula Rafferty Laurie Schiavone

President Kelly heard the list of candidates as presented by the Immediate Past-President and the Nominations committee. She then asked if there were nominations from the floor for the position of President-Elect. Hearing none, a motion was represented by Tom Morehouse and second by Melissa Barnes, to declare Shelia Nelson-Hensley as President-Elect by acclamation. The motion was accepted and carried.

A motion was made by Melissa Barnes and seconded by Vera Riddick to accept the candidate for the position of Treasurer-Elect as presented by the Nominations committee. President Kelly then asked if there were nominations from the floor for the position of Treasurer-Elect. Hearing none, a motion was made and seconded to accept the candidate for the position of Treasurer-Elect as presented by the Nominations committee. *Motion carried.* There being no additional nominations for Treasurer-Elect, the nominations were closed, declaring Heather Hollandsworth as Treasurer-Elect by acclamation.

A motion was made and seconded to accept the candidates for the positions of Representative at large President-Elect as presented by the Nominations committee. President Kelly then asked if there were nominations from the floor for the positions of Representative-at-Large. Hearing none, a motion was made and seconded to accept the candidates as presented by the Nominations committee. *Motion carried.* There being no additional nominations for Representative-at-large, the nominations were closed.

Immediate Past-President Erik Melis gave instructions to the candidates and then each candidate present gave their speech to the membership. The membership was advised about the voting procedures and the voting times, including the process for a run-off election if needed.

Pat Kelly expressed her thanks to the nominations committee and to the candidates.

The Annual Business meeting recessed and was reconvened on Wednesday, May 21, 2008.

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

President Pat Kelly reconvened the Annual Business meeting at 9:15 a.m.

The election results are in and the following is the slate of officers for the 2008-09 term:

*President Brenda Burke

President-Elect Sheila Henley-Nelson

> *Past President Pat Kelly

*Secretary

Vera Riddick

<u>*Treasurer</u> Keith Wellings

Treasurer-Elect Heather Hollandsworth

Representatives-At-Large

Keisha Pope – year term *Sheila Nelson-Hensley – 2 year term Paula Rafferty – 1 year term *Bill Wendle – 2 year term

* Represents those positions/individuals that were elected during spring 2007 voting.

A Motion was made by Brenda Burke and seconded by Erik Melis to destroy the ballots. Motion carried.

Pat Kelly and Erik Melis offered their Congratulations to each candidate.

Past President Pat Kelly expressed her thanks to the board and VASFAA for the opportunity afforded her during her tenure as President of VASFAA.

The gavel was passed from the President – Pat Kelly, to President Elect – Brenda Burke.

President Brenda Burke announced the 2009 theme: "Building Successful Futures". She also named the slate of committee chairs and co-chairs for the next year (2009).

She announced the transitional board meeting will be held in wintergreen and the 2009 conference will be held April 23-29, 2009.

Past President Kelly presented Immediate Past President Erik Melis with at \$2000 check from the Sue D. Endow fund that is to be given as a scholarship to a student of his university. He was also represented with the past president pin and a gravel plaque.

It was moved and seconded to adjourn the Business Meeting. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 9:45 am.

Respectfully submitted: Vera Riddick - Secretary