# Virginia Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators Spring Business Meeting Minutes April 27 & 29, 2009 Roanoke, Virginia

President Brenda Burke called the meeting to order. The Business Meeting of the Association was convened at 1:15 pm on Monday, April 27, 2009.

Vera Riddick, Secretary, presented the Annual Business Meeting minutes to the membership. Tom Morehouse motioned to accept the minutes and Lisa Tumer seconded. The minutes from the last annual business meeting were accepted and approved as presented.

Keith Wellings submitted the Treasurer's Report to the membership reflecting the Association's financial status to date. President-Elect Shelia Nelson-Hensley motioned to accept the report and Vera Riddick second the motion. The Treasurer's Report was approved and submitted as the official record.

Past-President Pat Kelly presented the following slate of candidates for the 2009-2010 year:

## President-Elect Heather Hollandsworth

Treasurer-Elect Margaret Murphy

Secretary Melissa Barnes Kerrie Roth

#### Representative-At-Large

Cheryl Jones Hope Jackson Vera Riddick Donna Taylor Daniel Hewitt

President Burke heard the list of candidates as presented by the Immediate Past-President Kelly and the Nominations committee. She then asked if there were nominations from the floor for the position of President-Elect. Hearing none, it was moved by Carol Mowbray and seconded by Anita Aymer to declare Heather Hollandsworth as President-Elect by acclamation. The motion was accepted and carried.

A motion was made by Anita Aymer and seconded by Karen Koonce to accept the candidate for the position of Treasurer-Elect as presented by the Nominations committee. President Burke then asked if there were nominations from the floor for the position of Treasurer-Elect. Hearing none, a motion was made and seconded to accept the candidate for the position of Treasurer-Elect as presented by the Nominations committee. *Motion carried.* There being no additional nominations for Treasurer-Elect, the nominations were closed. Treasurer-Elect was elected by acclamation.

A motion was made and seconded to accept the candidates for the position of Secretary as presented by the Nominations committee. President Burke then asked if there were nominations from the floor for the position of Secretary. Hearing none, a motion was made and seconded to accept the candidates for the position of Secretary as presented by the Nominations committee. *Motion carried*. There being no additional nominations from the floor for Secretary the nominations were closed.

A motion was made and seconded to accept the candidates for the positions of Representative-At-Large as presented by the Nominations committee. President Burke then asked if there were nominations from the floor for the positions of Representative-At-Large. Hearing none, a motion was made and seconded to accept the candidates for the position as presented by the Nominations committee. *Motion carried*. There being no additional nominations from the floor the nominations were closed.

Past President Pat Kelly gave instructions to the membership on the voting process. She advised them of the voting procedure and the voting times, including the process for a run-off election if needed.

Immediate Past-President Pat Kelly gave instructions to the candidates and then each candidate present gave their speech to the membership. The membership was advised about the voting procedures and the voting times, including the process for a run-off election if needed.

President Brenda Burke commended each committee and applauded them for hard work. She also thanked Biz Daniels and the Development committee, the officers, chairs, volunteers and the VCU staff and board.

The Annual Business meeting recessed at 1:25 p.m. and was reconvened on Wednesday, April 29, 2009.

#### Wednesday, April 29, 2009

President Brenda Burke reconvened the Annual Business meeting at 9:25 am.

The election results are in and the following is the slate of officers for the 2009-10 terms:

#### \*President Sheila Nelson-Hensley

\*President-Elect Heather Hollandsworth

\*Past President
Brenda Burke

\*Secretary Melissa Barnes

Treasurer Kerrie Roth

\*Treasurer-Elect Margaret Murphy

### \*Representatives-At-Large

Kiesha Pope – 2 year term\* Donna Taylor – 2 year term Daniel Hewitt – 2 year term Paula Rafferty – 2 year term\*

\* Represents those positions/individuals that were elected during Spring 2007 voting.

A Motion was made and seconded by Barry Simmons to destroy the ballots. Motion carried.

Awards were given to the following:

Committee of the Year: Support Staff (2008-09)
Retirement Recognitions: Pam Rambo, Access Group

Past President Pin: Brenda Burke, Virginia Commonwealth University Life Members: Carol Mowbray, Virginia Community College

Karen Koonce, Wachovia

Following the awards, the gavel was passed from the President Brenda Burke to President-Elect Sheila Nelson-Hensley.

It was moved and seconded to adjourn the Business Meeting. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 9:45 am.

Respectfully submitted: Vera Riddick - Secretary